Coronado, California

Coronado development tracker

This tracker lists commercial and public projects in the City of Coronado, California, that appear in public filings and local news reports, with the date and publisher behind every status. It holds 4 private-development entries, 13 public infrastructure entries and 9 city plans.

Last checked October 13, 2026. An entry carries only what its sources state. Where a source gives no date or no outcome, the entry says so.

How to read this tracker

A filing is not an approval. A notice filed with a state database or an item placed on a council agenda shows that a process has started, and it does not say how the process ends. An approval is not a construction start either. The Ferry Landing entry shows the difference: the Port of San Diego says its board approved an option to lease, and the Port District's own filing says landside work is anticipated to begin in Summer 2027.

Every date on this page is the date the source gives. Where a source gives only a month, this page shows only the month. Where a source describes a plan as anticipated or scheduled, this page repeats that word and does not turn it into a promise. Where two sources disagree, both appear as separate dated entries with the publisher named.

  • Status is the latest state a listed source reports, with that source's date beside it.
  • Size is quoted or closely paraphrased from the source, or left out when no source gives one.
  • Costs belong to the publisher that stated them, and each is shown with the date and the scope that publisher gives.

Which Coronado projects are under construction?

None of the 4 private entries is described by its source as under construction. The Ferry Landing sources give 2027 as the anticipated start, so it is not listed here. Public works under construction are in the infrastructure section below.

Which Coronado projects have been approved or scheduled?

Coronado Ferry Landing Revitalization Project

Location: Coronado Ferry Landing, 1201 First Street, Coronado (CEQAnet). Type: Retail center renovation and ferry pier improvements. Size as the source words it: a 38,000 square foot specialty retail shopping center comprising of one-story commercial buildings (CEQAnet).

Status: Port Board of Port Commissioners approved an Option to Lease Agreement with Port Coronado Associates, LLC; the Port states the amended and restated lease will be executed if PCA completes specific preconditions before June 30, 2027. Status date: June 2026.

  • October 30, 2025: Coronado Times reported that the Port of San Diego would not renew its lease with the company that operates the Ferry Landing, "stalling a planned $20 million renovation of the property." Source: Coronado Times, October 30, 2025
  • June 21, 2026: Coronado Times reported that the Board of Port Commissioners would vote June 23 on an option-to-lease agreement with Port Coronado Associates, and that the proposal "moves up construction on the Ferry Landing's redevelopment by a full year, to 2027." It put the renovation plan at $13.9 million for landside and pier improvements, plus a separate requirement to spend no less than $5.3 million on future subtenant improvement projects. Source: Coronado Times, June 21, 2026
  • June 2026: The Port of San Diego stated that its Board of Port Commissioners has approved an Option to Lease Agreement with Port Coronado Associates, LLC, that the renovations are anticipated to begin in 2027, and that "the total anticipated project cost is $21.9 million, which includes future tenant improvements, soft costs, and construction costs." The release does not show the vote date. Source: Port of San Diego, June 2026
  • June 25, 2026: The San Diego Unified Port District filed a Notice of Exemption on CEQAnet for the project, tied to a 12-month Option to Lease Agreement for an extended 35-year Amended and Restated Lease. The filing states that landside improvements are anticipated to commence Summer 2027 and be fully implemented by Summer 2029, and that the project "would not result in new building(s) or increased square footage." Source: CEQAnet (California Governor's Office of Land Use and Climate Innovation), June 25, 2026

Which Coronado projects are filed or on a ballot?

R-4 zone height increase ballot measure and Ordinance 2026-04 (Orange Avenue Corridor Specific Plan)

Location: R-4 zone, Orange Avenue between Second and Eighth Streets, Coronado. Type: Zoning and specific plan amendment (multifamily height). Size as the source words it: The R-4 zone covers approximately 14.8 acres (Coronado Times).

Status: Council agenda item of May 19, 2026 to call the November 3, 2026 election and place the measure before voters; outcome not confirmed. Status date: May 18, 2026.

  • May 18, 2026: Coronado Times previewed the May 19 council agenda. The item asked the council to call the November 3, 2026 General Municipal Election and place a measure before voters that would raise the maximum allowable height for multifamily development in the R-4 zone "from three stories and 35 feet to four stories and 42 feet." The council would also be asked to introduce Ordinance No. 2026-04, which would implement the change in the zoning code and the Orange Avenue Corridor Specific Plan, "but only if voters approve" the measure. Source: Coronado Times, May 18, 2026

Which Coronado projects are proposed or still in planning?

Port Master Plan Update (Coronado subdistricts) and Cottages at the Cays (North Grand Caribe Isle)

Location: Port tidelands in Coronado; North Grand Caribe Isle, Coronado Cays. Type: Port master plan, and a proposed visitor-serving lodging project. Size as the source words it: Cottages at the Cays concept: 41 rental units plus a market-restaurant (Coronado Times, November 2022).

Status: Port board approved the updated Port Master Plan on Feb. 28, 2024, pending California Coastal Commission approval; Cottages at the Cays would need an environmental impact review and a master plan amendment. Status date: March 6, 2024.

  • November 8, 2022: Coronado Times reported on a community open house for the proposed Cottages at the Cays, whose site design "incorporates 41 rental units," described as cottage-style vacation rentals, along with a market-restaurant. Source: Coronado Times, November 8, 2022
  • March 6, 2024: Coronado Times reported that the San Diego Board of Port Commissioners approved the updated plan unanimously on Feb. 28, that the updated plan must now be approved by the California Coastal Commission, and that "the plan does not allocate for any additional hotel rooms in Coronado or Silver Strand." It reported that the north end of Grand Caribe Isle is zoned as recreational open space and that the Cottages at the Cays developer "will need to conduct an environmental impact review and then seek an amendment to the port master plan." Source: Coronado Times, March 6, 2024

Which Coronado projects are completed?

The Bower (Villa Capri replacement hotel)

Location: 1417 Orange Ave., Coronado. Type: Hotel with a rooftop bar. Size as the source words it: "A new 39-room Coronado boutique hotel" (San Diego Business Journal).

Status: Opened: Coronado Times reports the grand opening and ribbon cutting on March 21, 2025. Status date: March 21, 2025.

  • February 12, 2020: Coronado Times reported that the Planning Commission passed a motion, with four affirmative votes and one no, to recommend that City Council approve the special use permit, parking plan, coastal development permit and a mitigated negative declaration. The project description was "a four story hotel to include a ground floor lobby and courtyard, parking for 22 vehicles" and an approximately 2000 sq ft rooftop bar and restaurant. Source: Coronado Times, February 12, 2020
  • February 6, 2025: The San Diego Business Journal reported that "The Bower, at 1417 Orange Ave., is a $23 million project by J Street Space" and that the new 39-room boutique hotel will replace a 1950s era motel. Its headline says the hotel is scheduled to open in February, and it names Swinerton as the general contractor. Source: San Diego Business Journal, February 6, 2025
  • March 21, 2025: Coronado Times reported that "The second chapter began on March 21 with the grand opening and ribbon cutting for The Bower, whose first chapter was in 1956 as Villa Capri." Source: Coronado Times, March 23, 2025

Where do the sources disagree on the Ferry Landing cost?

Publishers give different cost figures for the Coronado Ferry Landing renovation. In October 2025 Coronado Times reported a planned $20 million renovation of the property, and quoted a Port Coronado Associates executive saying the company was ready to deploy $20 million in capital. In June 2026 Coronado Times reported a $13.9 million plan for landside and pier improvements plus a separate requirement to spend no less than $5.3 million on future subtenant improvement projects. The Port of San Diego states a total anticipated project cost of $21.9 million, which includes future tenant improvements, soft costs and construction costs. The sources do not say whether the October 2025 figure covers the same scope as the later figures.

The figures are not reconciled here. If you are a subtenant or a nearby owner, ask which scope a number covers before relying on it.

Infrastructure in the works in Coronado

This section lists 13 public works entries in the City of Coronado. Most come from the City's FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP), which lists each project with the appropriations it states. A CIP line is a budget listing, not a construction start, and an appropriation is not a contract award. The SR-75 Medians Improvement Project is described by its source as under construction.

Dollar figures belong to the publisher that states them. The Coronado Gateway entry carries the CIP's own wording that City Council has requested an update on the current scope before determining whether to proceed.

Infrastructure under construction

SR-75 Medians Improvement Project

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: SR-75 median between Pomona Avenue and Rendova Road, Coronado. Type: Highway median landscaping, streetlights and drainage.

Status: The City news flash, posted March 27, 2026, says construction is underway, with substantial completion anticipated by November. Status date: March 27, 2026 (date the news flash was posted).

  • March 27, 2026 (date the news flash was posted): The City of Coronado news flash says: "This project will upgrade the Caltrans-controlled SR-75 median between Pomona Avenue and Rendova Road." Improvements include new landscaping and irrigation, upgraded streetlights and enhanced drainage. Source: City of Coronado, March 27, 2026
  • March 27, 2026 (date the news flash was posted): The same news flash, as archived on August 14, 2026, says staging began April 13 and construction is underway, with substantial completion anticipated by November. During construction, one lane in each direction adjacent to the median is closed daily, Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Source: City of Coronado, March 27, 2026

Infrastructure listed as approved

Downtown Beautification Project (Orange Avenue streetscape)

Location: Orange Avenue, 100 to 1300 blocks, Coronado. Type: Public streetscape project.

Status: Phased approach chosen by City Council; Phase 2 design funding on the April 21, 2026 council agenda. Status date: April 20, 2026.

  • January 16, 2024: City Council opted to move forward with downtown projects. Coronado Times reported staff options: Option 1, for $4 million, would enhance the 100 and 800 blocks of Orange Ave.; "Under Option 2, the city could enhance every block from 100 to 1300 (ending at RH Dana Place) for an estimated $8.7 million." Source: Coronado Times, January 19, 2024
  • April 20, 2026: Coronado Times previewed the April 21 council agenda. The council chose a phased approach: Phase 1 covers standardized benches, trash and recycling cans, bike racks and tree grates, and Phase 2 covers sidewalk improvements, lighting and irrigation. "the design of Phase 2 of the project is now estimated at $481,763, leaving a deficit of $198,412." The agenda item considered about $200,000 in additional design funds. Source: Coronado Times, April 20, 2026

Library Winn Room expansion

Location: Coronado Public Library, Coronado. Type: Public facility expansion (performance space). Size as the source words it: $9.72 million expansion; the planned expansion "would increase the Winn Room seating capacity from 135 to 208" (Coronado Times).

Status: City Council voted 3-2 to approve in August 2024; a lawsuit under the California Environmental Quality Act was reported in February 2025. Status date: February 16, 2025.

  • February 16, 2025: Coronado Times reported that "Last August, the City of Coronado voted 3-2 to approve the $9.72 million Winn Room expansion," which "would increase the Winn Room seating capacity from 135 to 208." The same article reported a lawsuit alleging the City failed to comply with the California Environmental Quality Act. This tracker did not confirm the lawsuit's outcome. Source: Coronado Times, February 16, 2025

Infrastructure listed in the capital improvement program

Shores Median Design, SR-75 from Avenida Del Sol to Avenida Lunar

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: SR-75 from Avenida Del Sol to Avenida Lunar, Coronado. Type: Highway median design (Caltrans-controlled medians). Amount as stated (cost): $1,440,000 total in the CIP (design $440,000; construction $1,000,000). Amount as stated (funding): The CIP project narrative says "The project is funded from Hotel Del Development (Master Plan) resources.".

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP document dated June 3, 2025) with an appropriation; a CIP line is a budget listing and the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. Design stage: the CIP says the project will produce conceptual designs for the medians. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP says the project "will produce conceptual designs for the medians from Avenida Del Sol to Avenida Lunar" and that the medians, under Caltrans control, have not been properly maintained. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025
  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP lists a total of $1,440,000: design $440,000 and construction $1,000,000. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Silver Strand Undergrounding

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Silver Strand State Road (SR) 75 between Fiddler's Cover (as the CIP spells it) and Loews Coronado Bay Road. Type: Utility undergrounding, 8,960 linear feet. Amount as stated (cost): $3,595,596 total in the CIP.

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP document dated June 3, 2025) with an appropriation; a CIP line is a budget listing and the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. The CIP modification summary says the scope was revised into Phase I and Phase II. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP says the project "will underground 8,960 linear feet of utilities on the Silver Strand State Road (SR) 75" and that "Silver Strand was the fourth highest priority area" under the Undergrounding Master Plan the Council approved in 2019. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025
  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP modification summary says: "Silver Strand Undergrounding Scope revised into Phase I and Phase II." The CIP lists a total of $3,595,596. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Neighborhood Lighting and Street Improvements Along Third/Fourth Streets (Avenue of Heroes, SR-282)

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Third and Fourth Streets from Orange Avenue to NASNI (SR-282). Type: Streetscape: decorative lighting, landscaping, street furnishings. Amount as stated (cost): $550,000 total in the CIP (design $50,000; construction $500,000).

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP document dated June 3, 2025) with an appropriation; a CIP line is a budget listing and the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP says the project will "install decorative light standards, enhance landscaping and add appropriate street furnishings along the Avenue of Heroes' corridor," on Third and Fourth Streets from Orange Avenue to NASNI. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025
  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP lists a construction appropriation of $500,000. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Coronado Gateway (Toll Plaza area, pedestrian underpass)

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Bridge Toll Plaza and surrounding right-of-way up to A Avenue, Coronado. Type: Hardscape, landscape, operational improvements, traffic calming and a pedestrian underpass. Amount as stated (cost): $5,310,688 in Coronado Gateway Funds, as listed in the CIP.

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 CIP (document dated June 3, 2025) at the preliminary engineering stage. The CIP says: "City Council has requested an update on current scope of project before determining whether to proceed with the project.". Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP scope includes hardscape, landscape and operational improvements, traffic calming and "construction of a pedestrian underpass at the Toll Plaza and surrounding right-of-way areas up to A Avenue." Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025
  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP says City Council has requested an update on the current scope of the project before determining whether to proceed. It lists $5,310,688 in Coronado Gateway Funds. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Parker Pump Station Rehabilitation

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Parker Pump Station, Coronado (sewer and storm pump station). Type: Sewer and storm water pump station rehabilitation. Amount as stated (cost): $32,877,196 total in the CIP (design $4,034,967; construction $28,842,229).

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP document dated June 3, 2025) with an appropriation; a CIP line is a budget listing and the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP scope is to "Install a permanent generator and automatic transfer switch, exterior lights, frontage access fence and access to the Navy, H2S and oxygen sensors," and to repair the deteriorated wet well. The CIP says the station lacks backup power necessary to maintain critical sewer and storm services. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025
  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP lists a total of $32,877,196: design $4,034,967 and construction $28,842,229. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

First Street Storm Water Pump Station Flood Relief

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: First Street in the vicinity of A Avenue, Coronado. Type: Storm water pump station and tide gate. Amount as stated (cost): $950,000 total in the CIP.

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP document dated June 3, 2025) with an appropriation; a CIP line is a budget listing and the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP covers "design and construction of a storm water pump station and tide gate to alleviate the flooding that occurs on First Street." It lists a total of $950,000. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Seawall Stabilization and Repair, Public Right of Way

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Seawalls along the causeways in the public right of way, Coronado. Type: Seawall repair. Amount as stated (cost): $600,000 total in the CIP (design $100,000; construction $500,000).

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP document dated June 3, 2025) with an appropriation; a CIP line is a budget listing and the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. The CIP says several areas need repair. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP says the project "will investigate and repair identified seawalls needing maintenance along the causeways located in the public right of way" and that several areas need repair. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025
  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP lists design $100,000 and construction $500,000, a total of $600,000. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Adella/Ynez Undergrounding

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Adella Avenue between Orange Avenue and Ynez Place; Ynez Place between Adella Avenue and Glorietta Boulevard. Type: Utility undergrounding conversion district. Amount as stated (cost): $2,250,000 total in the CIP (design $250,000; construction $2,000,000).

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program (CIP document dated June 3, 2025) with an appropriation; a CIP line is a budget listing and the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP says the proposed conversion district "would remove all poles and overhead wiring along a portion of Adella Avenue between Orange Avenue and Ynez Place," and along Ynez Place between Adella Avenue and Glorietta Boulevard. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025
  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP lists design $250,000 and construction $2,000,000, a total of $2,250,000. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Pomona Avenue Reconstruction and Underground Utility Design

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Pomona Avenue, Coronado. Type: Street reconstruction and utility undergrounding design.

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 CIP (document dated June 3, 2025) as a design project; the CIP excerpt used here gives no construction start. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP scope is "Design to reconstruct Pomona Avenue, including curb and gutter, sewer repair and new roadway pavement." It says design work will be coordinated with the undergrounding of the overhead utility lines. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

Library Roof and HVAC Replacement

Listed by: City of Coronado. Location: Coronado Public Library, Coronado. Type: Public building roof and HVAC replacement. Amount as stated (cost): $700,000 design appropriation; no construction appropriation shown in the CIP.

Status: Listed in the FY 2025-26 CIP (document dated June 3, 2025) with a design appropriation only. Status date: June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document).

  • June 3, 2025 (date of the CIP document): The CIP scope is to "Replace 20-year-old roof on main portion of library and entire HVAC system." It lists design $700,000 and no construction appropriation. Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

City plans: the General Plan, specific plans and housing element

This section lists 9 plans that appear on City of Coronado pages and documents or in the other sources named with each plan, with each kind, area, adoption or status date as the source states it. A plan is not a project, and a field the source does not state is shown as not stated. According to Coronado Times, Ordinance No. 2026-04 would implement the R-4 height change in the zoning code and the Orange Avenue Corridor Specific Plan, but only if voters approve the November ballot measure.

Coronado General Plan

Kind: general plan. Adoption date: not stated in the source retrieved. Status as the source states it: The policy document incorporates mandatory elements (Land Use, Circulation, Housing, Safety, Noise, Open Space and Conservation) and permissive elements, including Local Coastal and Bay; its stated goal is to "preserve and improve Coronado primarily as a beautiful, pleasant residential community".

Source: City of Coronado, archive copy

Orange Avenue Corridor Specific Plan

Kind: specific plan. Area as the source states it: Orange Avenue corridor from First Street in the north to Adella Avenue in the south; two commercial areas, Downtown and Uptown, are included. Adoption date: not stated in the source retrieved. Status as the source states it: Established by Ordinance No. 1951, as amended by Ordinance No. 1962, per the municipal code; listed on the City planning page as Title 88.

Source: City of Coronado, archive copy ; Source: City of Coronado, archive copy ; Source: City of Coronado, archive copy April 8, 2026

Coronado Cays Specific Plan

Kind: specific plan. Adoption date: not stated in the source retrieved. Status as the source states it: Listed on the City planning page as Title 90.

Source: City of Coronado, archive copy April 8, 2026

Hotel del Coronado Amended Master Plan

Kind: master plan. Adoption date: not stated in the source retrieved. Status as the source states it: Amended Master Plan dated August 2010, linked to Coastal Commission Appeal No. A-6-COR-08-098 & -099. Status date: August 2010.

Source: City of Coronado, August 2010

Coronado Local Coastal Program Land Use Plan

Kind: local coastal program. Adopted: December 3, 1980. Status as the source states it: Certified by the California Coastal Commission December 1983; the cover lists amendments in 1989, 1991, 1995, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2004 and 2005. Status date: December 1983.

Source: City of Coronado, 2013

San Diego Unified Port District Port Master Plan, Coronado Bayfront Planning District 6

Kind: master plan. Area as the source states it: Coronado Bayfront Planning District 6 (tidelands, including the Glorietta Bay Marina). Adoption date: not stated in the source retrieved. Status as the source states it: Coronado Times reported on March 6, 2024 that the Board of Port Commissioners approved the updated port master plan on Feb. 28 and that the plan must now be approved by the California Coastal Commission. A Coastal Commission report dated January 14, 2016 covers Amendment No. PMP-6-PSD-15-0002-2 (Glorietta Bay Improvements). Status date: March 6, 2024.

Source: Coronado Times, March 6, 2024; Source: California Coastal Commission, January 14, 2016

Coronado Housing Element update (2024)

Kind: housing element. Adopted: April 9, 2024. Status as the source states it: Per the City page, the City Council voted to adopt on April 9, 2024, the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) certified on August 29, 2024, and the California Coastal Commission approved the City's amendments to the Coronado Municipal Code on December 12, 2024. Status date: August 29, 2024.

Source: City of Coronado, archive copy April 8, 2026; Source: California Department of Housing and Community Development, August 29, 2024

Coronado Housing Element (2013)

Kind: housing element. Adopted: February 19, 2013. Status as the source states it: Adopted by City Council Resolution February 19, 2013; State HCD certification March 6, 2013. Status date: March 6, 2013.

Source: City of Coronado, archive copy

Capital Improvement Program FY 2025-26

Kind: capital improvement program. Adoption date: not stated in the source retrieved. Status as the source states it: Capital Improvement Program Fiscal Year 2025-26, dated June 3, 2025; categories are City Facilities, Public Facilities, Transportation and Right-of-Way, Wastewater, and Storm Drain. Status date: June 3, 2025.

Source: City of Coronado, June 3, 2025

What did this check not find?

This tracker does not include Planning Commission, Design Review or building permit records for 2024 to 2026 commercial projects. It did not find a sourced project record for the Hotel del Coronado renovation. It did not confirm the result of the November 3, 2026 ballot measure on R-4 height, the final signing of the Ferry Landing lease, or any California Coastal Commission action on the Port Master Plan update. Treat an absence here as unchecked, not as proof that nothing is happening.

What should you ask about a project near your property?

These questions are advice, not findings. Use them with a California-licensed broker, attorney or the City of Coronado planning staff.

  • If a project is near your storefront on Orange Avenue, ask which approvals are still pending and which dates the source calls anticipated.
  • If a streetscape phase affects your block, ask whether a schedule or an access plan for sidewalk, lighting or irrigation work has been published.
  • If you lease a Ferry Landing space or one nearby, ask who the current landlord is, whether your sublease runs past the dates in the filings, and whether any tenant improvement funding obligation applies to your space and which documents establish it.
  • If a zoning change could reach your parcel, ask whether it needs a vote, what the ordinance text says and whether it takes effect only after the election result.
  • If a project depends on a Coastal Commission or Port amendment, ask what the approving body has actually voted on and what remains.

If a project on this page touches a property you own or are considering, write down which dates and approvals matter to you before you talk to a California-licensed broker.

Prepare a note about what you are weighing

Questions people ask

What infrastructure work is planned in Coronado?

The City of Coronado's FY 2025-26 Capital Improvement Program lists work including Parker Pump Station Rehabilitation at $32,877,196, Silver Strand Undergrounding at $3,595,596 and seawall repair at $600,000. A CIP listing is a budget line, not a construction start. The SR-75 Medians project is described by its source as under construction, with substantial completion anticipated by November.

What city plans cover Coronado's commercial areas?

The City's planning page lists the Orange Avenue Corridor Specific Plan (Title 88), which includes the Downtown and Uptown commercial areas, and the Coronado Cays Specific Plan (Title 90). The Hotel del Coronado Amended Master Plan is dated August 2010. The City Council adopted the Housing Element update on April 9, 2024, and HCD certified it on August 29, 2024.

What is the status of the Coronado Ferry Landing project?

The Port of San Diego states that its Board of Port Commissioners has approved an Option to Lease Agreement with Port Coronado Associates, LLC. A Port District filing on CEQAnet dated June 25, 2026 says landside improvements are anticipated to commence Summer 2027. The Port states that the amended and restated lease will be executed if PCA completes specific preconditions before June 30, 2027.

How much will the Ferry Landing renovation cost?

It depends on the source. The Port of San Diego states a total anticipated project cost of $21.9 million, including future tenant improvements. Coronado Times reported a $13.9 million plan for landside and pier improvements plus at least $5.3 million of subtenant improvements in June 2026, after reporting a $20 million plan in October 2025. Ask which scope a figure covers.

Could the building height limit on Orange Avenue change?

Coronado Times reported that the May 19, 2026 council agenda included placing a measure on the November 3, 2026 ballot. It would raise the R-4 zone height limit, along Orange Avenue between Second and Eighth Streets, from three stories and 35 feet to four stories and 42 feet. Ordinance No. 2026-04 applies only if voters approve. This tracker did not confirm the result.

Does the Port Master Plan allow more hotel rooms in Coronado?

Coronado Times reported in March 2024 that the updated Port Master Plan, approved by the Board of Port Commissioners on Feb. 28, does not allocate any additional hotel rooms in Coronado or Silver Strand. The plan still needed California Coastal Commission approval at that time. This tracker did not retrieve a Coastal Commission decision.

What is planned for the Orange Avenue streetscape?

Coronado Times reported that the City Council chose a phased approach. Phase 1 covers standardized benches, trash and recycling cans, bike racks and tree grates. Phase 2 covers sidewalk improvements, lighting and irrigation, with design estimated at $481,763 in April 2026. Staff options in January 2024 ranged from $4 million for two blocks to $8.7 million for blocks 100 to 1300.

How many rooms does The Bower have?

The San Diego Business Journal reported on February 6, 2025 that The Bower, at 1417 Orange Ave., is a 39-room boutique hotel replacing a 1950s era motel, a $23 million project by J Street Space, with Swinerton as general contractor. Coronado Times reported the grand opening and ribbon cutting on March 21, 2025.

Sources

  1. Coronado Ferry Landing Revitalization Project notice of exemption, CEQAnet (California Governor's Office of Land Use and Climate Innovation), filing by the San Diego Unified Port District, published June 25, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  2. Port of San Diego Approves Lease Deal and Renovation Plans for Coronado Ferry Landing, Port of San Diego, press release, published June 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  3. Coronado Ferry Landing could get a 35-year lease, with redevelopment starting a year early, Coronado Times, published June 21, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  4. Port to end lease at Coronado Ferry Landing, stalling $20 million redevelopment project, Coronado Times, published October 30, 2025. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  5. Boutique Coronado Hotel Keeps Touches of Landmark Villa Capri, San Diego Business Journal, published February 6, 2025. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  6. Planning Commission Approves Chipotle and Villa Capri Hotel, Coronado Times, published February 12, 2020. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  7. New Beginnings: Ribbon Cutting & Grand Opening for The Bower and Dive, Coronado Times, published March 23, 2025. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  8. Orange Avenue Will be Getting a Makeover, Coronado Times, published January 19, 2024. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  9. City Council agenda: Orange Avenue beautification, opposing offshore oil and gas leasing, and more, Coronado Times, published April 20, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  10. Coronado Faces New Lawsuit Over Trees Slated for Removal near the Library, Coronado Times, published February 16, 2025. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  11. City Council agenda: A ballot measure to allow 4-story buildings on Orange Ave, a citywide kratom ban, and more, Coronado Times, published May 18, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  12. 30-Year Waterfront Plan Addresses Future Growth Surrounding San Diego Bay, Coronado Times, published March 6, 2024. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  13. Cottages at the Cays Community Open House Draws Crowd, Coronado Times, published November 8, 2022. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  14. SR-75 Medians Improvement Project (City news flash), City of Coronado, published March 27, 2026; archive copy captured August 14, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  15. Capital Improvement Program Fiscal Year 2025-26, City of Coronado, published June 3, 2025; archive copy captured April 9, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  16. General Plan Policy Document, City of Coronado, publication date not stated on the page. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  17. Orange Avenue Corridor Specific Plan, introduction, City of Coronado, publication date not stated on the page. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  18. Municipal Code, Orange Avenue Corridor Specific Plan, City of Coronado, publication date not stated on the page. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  19. City planning page, City of Coronado, publication date not stated on the page; archive copy captured April 8, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  20. Hotel del Coronado Amended Master Plan, City of Coronado, published August 2010. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  21. Local Coastal Program Land Use Plan, City of Coronado, published 2013. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  22. Port Master Plan Amendment PMP-6-PSD-15-0002-2 report, California Coastal Commission, published January 14, 2016. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  23. Housing Element Update page, City of Coronado, publication date not stated on the page; archive copy captured April 8, 2026. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  24. HCD letter on Coronado rezone, California Department of Housing and Community Development, published August 29, 2024. Accessed October 13, 2026.
  25. Capital Improvement Program Fiscal Year 2025-26, City of Coronado, published June 3, 2025. Accessed October 13, 2026.